As the country city turned into a battlefield yesterday, I went undercover for the the fear of my dear life. While there, I decided to go through my site statistics. Something caught my attention and left me laughing at myself. In the ‘search terms’ display, I came across the phrase “the meaning of togikwatako”. Good enough, I had a previous article (Read the Article Here) related to the term where I translated the word to English and I think whoever searched the ‘Togikwatako’ meaning at least got a hint.

If you did a research today about the most used words in Uganda today and this word appears nowhere, then the piece must be totally null and void. As a result, I wanted to bring some of the related words commonly used in reference to article 102(b) of the Constitution of the Republic of Uganda;

  1. Togikwatako: If I did a direct translation, the word would be “don’t touch on it”. However now that we are not directly translating, let’s go with “don’t lay your finger on it”.
  2. Gikwateko: This is the opposite of the term below. Where there’s ‘don’t’, just save the first two letters and omit the rest thus the meaning becomes “do lay your finger on it” or directly “do touch on it”.
  3. K’ogikwatako: Meaning “dare touch it”, this phrase is mainly related to Democratic Party (DP). It’s a full campaign with even T-Shirts donned with the word plus a logo.
  4. Gibumbeko: Credit goes to Kampala Central Member of Parliament Hon. Mohammed Nsereko for adding this word to our list. The nearest explanation I got for this one was “bring it together”.
  5. Togibikkula: This translates to “don’t open it”.
  6. Togitigaatiga: If the article was a person especially a girl or a woman, this could be molesting. But considering this just an article in a book, I don’t know which word would be better. But still let’s use this one; “don’t molest it”.

Being Ugandans, the incident has already taken another trend of vulgarity with a string of words added. But that’s another story for another day.

