Kyaddondo East Legislator Hon. Kyagulanyi Robert Ssentamu has finally come out to give his stand on the money allocated to all Members of Parliament in line with consulting their constituents about the amendment of Article 102(b). Early this week, each legislator received a total sum of 29 million shillings to assist them during their consultation meetings aimed at changing the age limit for Presidency.
According to his facebook post, Kyagulanyi has instructed Barclays Bank to resend the money to the creditor which the bank also obeyed. He joins fellow members like Ibrahim Ssemuju Nganda, Muwanga Kivumbi, Kasibante Moses, William Nzhogu, Medard Lubega Sseggona and Angellina Osege who withdrew the money and took it back to the Parliamentary clerk.

Below is a copy of his full statement;
MY STAND ON THE AGE LIMIT MONEY
I have had a good portion of my constituents advise me on what to do with the 29,000,000 million shs given to me to go consult them about their views on whether to change article 102b of the constitution.
Some put before me a list of problems that this amount would solve and some,asked me to immediately take it back since I knew their stand on this same issue.
Considering the following reasons,I have made my final stand.
1. The ministry of Finance was tasked to find a total of 12 billion Uganda shillings to effect an immediate transfer to our personal (Member of parliament’s) bank accounts with out fail. And because there was no such money at the Disposal of parliament, Ministry of Finance had to divert this amount from other ministries to which we legislators allocated it this financial.
2. Each member of Parliament was allocated 29,000,000 million shs to support nothing else but a bill tabled by an individual (a member of parliament) who had his own thoughts and wanted his idea handled more superior to many other bills tabled by other members of parliament this financial year alone.
3. This money was to facilitate us to go to our constituencies. Note; We are paid an amount of 1,400,000 million shs monthly for this very activity and we had just been paid our salary.
I KYAGULANYI SSENTAMU BOBI WINE WILL NOT SUPPORT THE DIVERSION OF FUNDS FROM THE MINISTRIES TO WHICH WE THE LEGISLATURE ALLOCATED IT ESPECIALLY IF THE FUNDS BEING DIVERTED ARE GOING TO OPPRESS OUR PEOPLE.
Although we have so many problems as a people and this money could have temporarily solved a few, I refuse to be on the wrong side of the law. By law, when the state avails money for a particular purpose it must serve that purpose and if one uses it for something else (even if it’s for the good of the people) one could be charged for misappropriation of government funds. Using this money for other things will only corrupt my conscience and just sooth the needs of my people. Everybody should know that It’s the duty of the state to make sure all hospitals are fully functioning, roads maintained and schools running with all government staff in its departments fairly paid! My job as a legislator is to remind the state of its duty! I shall therefore not blind my people by temporary solving a few of our problems other than pressure the state for perfect service delivery.
I have instructed my bank to send back the 29,000,000 million shillings to the creditor and the bank has confirmed that the money has been sent back. I will follow it up to make sure it reaches the very ministry where it was taken from.
Sente yekibi jijje muyiyo! SIJJA KU ZIKWATAKO, NABO TEBAGIKWATAKO!

